Information on Driving Under the Influence

Virginia law lays out very harsh penalties for people convicted of driving under the influence. You can review some of the penalties in the Code of Virginia. Virginia law allows anyone who has had anything at all to drink and who has any contact with the controls of an automobile (including the radio and lights) to be convicted of operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol. The easiest way to make sure that you will never be convicted of DUI is to never drink within twenty-four hours of driving.

Conviction of a DUI in Virginia always requires the loss of your driverís license for a minimum of one year, and sometimes will result in mandatory jail time, even for first offenses. Every conviction will require payment of a fine, a minimum of $250.00 and a VASAP fee of $300.00.

Effective July 1, 2012, any person convicted of driving under the influence must have their vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device before the court will issue a restricted operators license. The interlock must be in place for a minimum of six months. Such interlock devices cost between $50 and $200.00 to install and require a monthly fee of $50.00 to $100.00. Under the amended law, the judge has no choice but to order the device installed. A person who is convicted of a DUI after July 1, 2012 will also be ordered not to operate any other vehicle that does not have the interlock installed.

Virginiaís DUI laws are complex. Because of this complexity, there are many ways for an attorney to find loopholes and problems within a DUI case. Do not assume that you will be found guilty just because you have been charged.